The Penalties for DUI in Florida
Know What To Expect in Your Case
Florida imposes some of the most severe consequences for drunk driving. Because of automatic license suspension, a DUI charge can put tremendous stress and hardship on an individual before the case is even heard in court. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, it is important to know what punishments you may be facing. You may get a better understanding of the DUI penalties involved in your case with help from our Tampa DUI attorneys at your side.
At Parks & Braxton, PA, our team has handled thousands of cases involving DUI charges. We believe it is important for our clients to be informed on the law and know what to expect in a
DUI case. Because driving while intoxicated is a situation that can involve several charges, it is important to have a full and careful assessment of the situation before pursing legal action. Our record speaks for itself—contact us today and secure dedicated representation from a DUI defense lawyer in Tampa.
Misdemeanor & Felony DUI Charges
Besides jail time, fines, and automatic license suspension, there are several consequences that come with DUI convictions, and most people do not realize this until it is too late. Depending on the circumstances, a DUI conviction may entail misdemeanor or felony charges—sometimes, individuals could be facing both. Your driver insurance rates may increase, your vehicle may be impounded, and you may even have to attend substance abuse programs to have your driver's license reinstated. Before you take action after a DUI arrest, consider the trouble you may be facing, and consider retaining a legal professional that is capable of protecting your rights in court.
Penalties for a First, Second, Third or Felony DUI Conviction
For a first DUI conviction, you may face:
- A fine between $500 and $1,000
- A fine between $1,000 and $2,000 if your BAC was .15% or greater
- A mandatory 50 hours of community service
- A maximum of six months in jail
- A maximum of nine months in jail if your BAC is over .15%
- Your vehicle will be impounded for 10 days
- Your license will be suspended for six months to one year
For a second DUI conviction (within five years) you may face:
- A fine between $1,000 and $2,000
- A fine between $2,000 and $4,000 if your BAC was .15% or greater
- Between 10 days and nine months in jail
- A maximum of one year in jail if your BAC was .15% or greater or a minor was in the car
- Your vehicle will be impounded for 30 days
For a third DUI conviction (within 10 years) you may face:
- A mandatory minimum of 30 days in jail
- You can be charged with a felony DUI and face up to five years in prison
- A fine between $2,000 and $5,000
- A minimum fine of $4,000 if your BAC was .15% or greater or a minor was in the car
- A 90-day impoundment of your vehicle
For a felony DUI conviction, you may face:
- Up to $5,000 in fines
- Up to five years in prison
- A $10,000 fine or 15 years in jail if you are convicted of DUI manslaughter
- Permanent revocation of your license
Trust in a Firm with a Reputation for Success
Our Tampa DUI lawyers have a standard of excellence that is recognized throughout the state. We have written articles on DUI defense that were published nationally, and we have been requested to lecture at seminars across Florida. You may have seen us on television stations like MSNBC, ABC, CBS or NBC. Each one of our DUI attorneys has at least a decade of experience aggressively defending people who have been charged with DUI. The repercussions that arise with a DUI conviction can be overwhelming, but when you trust in our firm, we will do all that is in our power to lessen the blow. In some cases, we have had the charges dropped entirely.
If you have recently been arrested for a DUI, contact us today for a free consultation so that we can discuss your case and establish the best possible defense.